Home / Headlines / CM KCR Declares 7 Khammam Mandals Now Part Of AP

CM KCR Declares 7 Khammam Mandals Now Part Of AP

What TelanganaTalkies reported a month before is official now. The TRS Government led by KCR has conceded the seven mandals of Khammam district to AP. The mandals which were transferred to Andhra Pradesh by the Centre through the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation (amendment) Bill, 2014, in July are now, without any controversy, part of AP.

While speaking in a press conference on Tuesday, CM KCR was asked on why the survey exercise is not being carried out in the 7 mandals of AP. TS Government has earlier objected to the amendment and the procedural issues in passing the amendment. To this, the CM remarked that the Parliament had enacted the amendment and passed the law the transfer of mandals, despite protests by Telangana. So the 7 mandals are now in AP and that is the reality. The CM also remarked that there is no point in going to courts when Parliament decided the fate of the 7 mandals, when questioned on his earlier statements on knocking the doors of Supreme Court.

This brings down the curtains on the speculation around the 7 mandals. The Telangana Govt. never challenged the Parliament’s act nor the earlier amendment by Modi Govt. in the Supreme Court. The State Government also withheld salaries to Government staff in the 7 mandals for past few weeks, after the Parliament passed the amendment, indirectly accepting the transfer, much before the CM’s admission yesterday.

Meanwhile, TJAC has been actively calling up protests against the transfer of mandals. Several tribal bodies were continuously doing stirs over the unconstitutional transfer. With the CM’s clear statement, their agitation would be now in a limbo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

10,803 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>