Home / Telangana Elections

Telangana Elections

desire for telangana statehood & self respect spills over to election

After Shankaramma’s Election, Cong Ready To Fund Srikantha Chary Statue On Tank Bund!

In a letter written to Telangana Chief Minister in waiting KCR, TPCC leader Ponnala Lakshmiah stated that the new government should install statues of prominent personalities of Telangana, including that of Srikantha Chary, on the Tank Bund. He pointed out that the TRS Government should recognize those leaders, who fought selflessly for the cause of statehood. Lakshmaiah stated that they have no problem to fund installation of Chary’s statue as well as those of Kaloji Narayana Rao, Konda Lakshman Bapuji, Jaya Shankar, Chakali Ilamma & Doddi Komaraiah. Congress was insensitive enough to contest and win against Srikantha Chary’s mother Shankaramma after initially making tall claims of reserving some tickets for some in martyr’s families. And now it claims it will ...

Read More »

TelanganaTalkies Forecast of Election Results Bang On!

Telangana Talkies Election forecast

On May 5,2014, we came with the forecast of Telangana elections and gave these figures for Lok Sabha contest in Telangana. We posted in this story the details and reasons behind the figures. Broadly, here is what we forecasted for the number of seats. While we forecasted the LS seats for all parties, we limited the Assembly forecast to 2 main parties TRS and Congress. Here are the details. Lok Sabha: INC 2 , TRS 10, BJP 2, TDP 1, MIM 1, YSRCP 1. Assembly: TRS: 65 INC: 20-30 We almost got everything right but for the 1 seat BJP lost to TRS. TRS eventually got 11 and BJP was limited to 1. We thank all the guys who gave ...

Read More »

Telangana Vote Share Shows No ‘NaMo’ Wave

Telangana Vote Share

Examining the vote share in the just concluded general elections in Telangana, it is clear there was no NaMo wave in Telangana. Attached are the vote shares in Assembly and Lok Sabha elections across 119 Assembly and 17 MP constituencies. TRS scored more vote share in Parliamentary contests than in the assembly segments within the same MP constituencies. In many instances, such cross-voting resulted even in victories to TRS in MP seats. Chevella Parliamentary seat is an example where TRS won just 2 out of 7 assembly segments for MLA contests but won the Mp seat due to cross-voting by a comfortable margin of above 70,000 votes. While the TDP/BJP alliance fetched a vote share of 22.44 in 17 Lok ...

Read More »

Independent With Auto Symbol Reason for Mandha Jagannatham Car’s Defeat!

In a repeat of earlier instances, TRS paid dearly due to EC’s negligence in allotting Symbols for contesting independents. An unknown independent with Auto symbol in Nagarkurnool, Buddula Srinivas got 54680 in Nagarkurnool election. Most of these votes were intended for the TRS Car symbol. Due to close similarity, TRS candidate Manda Jagannadam lost these votes and got defeated by Congress candidate Nandi Yellaiah by over 16000 votes! This seat which was considered easy for TRS was lost giving a shock to observers. In fact, the independent got more votes than even the YSRCP candidate who got over 22985 votes. This is not the first time this happened with TRS. Hope EC will be careful in future or otherwise the ...

Read More »

Lok Satta Collapse: Party Vote Share Ranks 12th among 15 Parties, Behind JSP & BSP, in AP!


Jayaprakash Narayan’s Lok Satta Party collapsed stunningly in Andhra and Telangana regions going by the data released by election commission. Among 15 political parties that competed, Lok Satta Party stood 12th in terms of vote share in all the assembly constituencies put together in Andhra and Telangana. The data reveals that even an aborted campaign of Jai Samaikyandra Party fetched it more votes than LSP. In fact, parties like BSP, which do not command much presence in AP, scored more than double the votes of LSP! One more interesting fact is that LSP managed lesser votes than even the number of NOTA votes polled in AP. The results raises questions on the agenda of LSP and the commitment of it’s ...

Read More »